Being Present

Last week I took a trip to Catalyst with some of our CP team. As always, it did not disappoint but instead of simply getting the latest & greatest ideas in the world of leadership, I came back deeply convicted. The conference theme was entitled “Be Present” & this theme was weaved through many of the talks. I thought I was good at this. I thought I had minimized many of the distractions in my life but with every passing session, I grew increasingly convinced that much of life was slipping past me & I had been to busy to see it.

 

We live in a world where it’s hard to slow down.

We live in a world where we dream about  the THEN instead of living in the NOW.

We live in a world where noise is constant & silence is nearly impossible. 

 

We tweet on Twitter, while pondering our update for Facebook. We call him while texting her & we can’t even text her without thinking about the e-mail we meant to send to that person about that thing but didn’t. We are so focused on what’s next that we forget about the now. Once we recognize this as a problem, the question becomes what are we going to do about it?

I left this conference ready to make intentional changes in the way I live my life to ensure I am giving myself every opportunity to be present.  I don’t want to get so caught up in the nextseason of marriage, parenting, relating, pastoring that I fail to see what God has called me to now.  Kristyn & I will be taking 1 night off every week from technology. I am devoting 10min everyday to total silence. When I read Scripture & spend time with God, I’m going to do it with my heart in focus not the focus of Centerpoint & what next great series I can get out of a passage.

If we’re being honest with ourselves, I believe we all need to make changes in order to be fully present in the life we were called to live. Everyday has opportunities but we have to be present to seize them.

What about you? What distracts you from being present & how can you cut out the noise? 

CV

One thought on “Being Present

  1. JEV says:

    Love it! This way of life would definitely benefit all who are constantly on-the-go.

Leave a Reply

