Why Cotton Candy Matters

This past Saturday Centerpoint hosted out 3rd Annual Crazy Love Family Day. Of the 1,200+  people we had in attendance, over 800 of them ate cotton candy. Cotton candy might seem like an odd thing from Saturday to give a stat from but allow me to explain.

Before I go any further you need to know that Crazy Love Family Day is 100% FREE & has been since year 1.

No asterisk.

No strings attached.

Towards the middle of the day I was running between stations & stopped to scout the field & look for someone. While I was stopped for a minute I watched 2 girls run to their mom with fresh sticks of cotton candy. Their mom was instantly suspicious asking them where they got the money to buy cotton candy. They told her it was free & she didn’t believe them especially when they told her ALL the food was free. Instead of interjecting, I listened until I realized the girls mom just wasn’t buying their story. I then chimed in & let the mom know her girls were on the up & up with their story & that everything she saw was completely free.

Her response: “that’s unusual.”

My response: “we like to call it crazy.”

She smiled, said thank you & we went our separate ways.

We think life change has to start & end at the altar but we forget that sometimes, life change starts with something as simple as cotton candy.  I don’t know where this mom & her daughters are at with God but I believe with all my heart they saw God in that field on Saturday. Cotton Candy Matters & we must remember that there are altars all around us. People are waiting to see the love of Christ so they can accept it but we must show it to them…sometimes we show it through cotton candy.

CV

8 thoughts on “Why Cotton Candy Matters

  1. Nick says:

    Hey Chris,

    I love it!! What a great example of showing love, real, raw, life-changing love to people who live in a world of skepticism, doubt and unhappiness. I checked out your photos, it looked like a lot of fun!!

  2. JEV says:

    Touched my heart. Great reminder.

  3. The photos tell the story better than my words. We had a lot of smiling faces in that field on Saturday.

  4. Kristyn VanBuskirk says:

    One of my fav posts! Love!

  5. Rachel says:

    Great post! Brought tears to my eyes…….Glad your day was a success!

  6. Grace says:

    I have always been addicted to cotton candy!!!!
    I love and support your story!!! It makes me want to go to the fair.

  7. […] Chris wrote a blog post last year that captures the heart of Crazy Love Family Day well: “sometimes, life change starts with […]

Leave a Reply

