Disturbing the Comfortable.

I recently heard it said that “Jesus came to disturb the comfortable & comfort the disturbed.” Despite the fact that I’ve believed this for most of my adult life, I cannot tell you how much this statement rattled me. Why? Because I am comfortable.

Comfortable in my life.

Comfortable in my relationships.

Comfortable in my faith.

It’s the last one that frightens me. When God’s Spirit is guiding our life it is rare we are comfortable in a spiritual sense because God’s Spirit always calls us to more. That more usually disturbs our comfort level so the question becomes, if I’m so comfortable, what is God getting ready to do or ask that will disturb my comfort?

I would imagine many of us would do well to ask this question.

Thoughts to ponder.

CV

Leave a Reply

