Evil Santa Claus

Inspired by a recent post by my friend, fellow CPer & comic artist Wes Molebash (that’s his Santa drawing over to the left) I decided to write a post on how Kristyn & I approach Santa at the VanBuskirk house. Now that Aubri’s almost 3, our discussion of last year on what we would do has now turned into what we’re doing. A the very least, I hope my thoughts will aide your discussion.

First, you must know that I don’t think Santa is evil 🙂 The modern, Americanized version has often taken the focus of the season off the manger but so do many other things we all participate in. At heart, I believe Santa, or Saint Nicholas, embodies the spirit of generosity Jesus wants us all to have & that’s why Kristyn & I believe it’s important for our kids to know the true story of Saint Nicholas. In short, that story is about a man who had a lot but, because of his faith in God, learned to give to those who had little as he grew older.

Aubri & Owen have already heard & will continue to hear this version of the story. They will also know that this story is the real reason why people still incorporate Santa into Christmas today & why we pretend he still gives gifts to people. Although we probably won’t have our kids write letters to Santa or threaten them with “no toys if you’re naughty”, we will always encourage them to use their imagination & pretend.

At the VanBuskirk house this year, & for years to come, Aubri & Owen will hear the manger story & we will tell them both how the love represented in the manger inspired the true story of Saint Nicholas. I believe when you put these things together, they enhance the true meaning of Christmas rather than detract from it. This Christmas season, consider the true story of Santa & maybe you’ll see that we really shouldn’t  be  “hatin” on him as much as some of us do.

Agree or disagree I’d love to hear your thoughts on this topic so feel free to comment & share.

CV

9 thoughts on “Evil Santa Claus

  1. James says:

    Agreed!

  2. Colleen Sheehy says:

    Try checking out this website:http://www.stnicholascenter.org I find it very useful as a religious education teacher – incorporates the historical 4th century Bishop of Myra, European tradition, and how the real person morphed into the fantasy person we know today. I teach my little ones that St Nicholas is REAL – part of the Christian communion of saints, but much of the Santa Claus stuff is make-believe. It’s fun to engage in a certain amount of make-believe when we’re small!
    Christian children rightly need to keep the focus on Jesus, on His birthday. Since He doesn’t need new socks or an X-Box, we give them to each other for love of Him. In this way, we’re all “Santa’s Helpers”, who are really Jesus’ Helpers.

  3. Thanks for passing along the info Colleen & thank you for your perspective as well. Good stuff.

  4. I think you’re right on the money. I agree that Santa shouldn’t be the focus of some mass hatred, and that it’s fun to make believe, but that we should try to do a better job telling the true story and making it clear what’s tradition and fun and what’s fact.

    One pastor I was reading had posted on the same topic, and he pointed out that there are some pretty amazing things in the Bible, so if we teach kids that Santa is real and then they learn otherwise, it sets a bad precedent for the believability of miracles and the supernatural parts of the Bible.

  5. Appreciate the feedback Trevor & I think you bring up an interesting point a fellow pastor made. My dad had a pretty harsh story for how he found out Santa wasn’t real & I never want to be that dad so it will never be overemphasized 🙂 The spiritual component to this is a worthwhile perspective worth considering as well.

  6. pstevep says:

    Another lovely post my friend (not that all your posts arent good) but you know how much i love different looks.. And megan and i have been discussing this as of late with Cade coming of the age that he would start to have an understanding of whats going on. and we both came from 2 different sides of the story, she was a firm believer in Santa where i wasnt. not that my parents taught me against santa, they actually promoted him at times. I just couldnt justify it to myself that santa could do all of that stuff in one night, did my own research and came to the most logical conclusion.. but for us we have a similar mindset for Cade as you do for Aubri and Owen, that we want him to have a giving heart and not that we will steer him away from Santa, but im not really going to promote a strict Santa belief (partly because i dont think he will believe it himself eventually).. and as you know anyway i have a lot of conflicting thoughts with things anyway.. I try to avoid most Christmas discussions but i know you enjoy different thoughts and aspects.. so good post and i agree..

  7. Good stuff my man! Interestingly enough, Kristyn & I were much like you & Megan growing up. She believed & I didn’t. We feel that our approach is actually a good mix of how we were both raised. Bottom line. Aurbi & Owen, like all kids, will love getting presents at Christmas but we want them to care as much about giving as they do getting & that’s why our approach might be slightly different from the 2 extremes many seem to follow.

  8. Wes says:

    My wife grew up NOT believing in Santa, whereas I grew up with full-Santa-overload. When Kari and I were discussing what to tell our children regarding Santa, she obviously didn’t want to perpetuate the myth while I wanted to keep the dream alive! Kari explained that she didn’t want to break our kids hearts when they find out Santa isn’t real, and I remembered my own personal experience when I realized that Santa was a farce – I was devastated! My heart was broken! I certainly don’t want my kids to be upset when they found out that something they truly believed in doesn’t exist – especially when I know from the get-go that it’s not true!

    It seems the common pro-Santa argument is that belief in Santa is fun for kids. But when I think about Christmas time when I was growing up, my favorite memories had nothing to do with Santa Claus. I loved going to get the tree with my parents and getting all the ornaments out. I loved listening to the music and drinking hot chocolate. I loved driving around the neighborhood with my family and looking at Christmas lights. When my sister and I were in high school, my mom and dad drove us around town on Christmas Eve and gave us a family history lesson. We’d drive by houses and neighborhoods while mom and dad regaled us with stories from their youths. It was awesome.

    Obviously a belief in Santa adds an element of fun to Christmas, but that dude gets too much credit. When you look at the big picture you realize that Santa is just a small part of the season. Leaving him out of the equation isn’t going to ruin the holiday for your family. 🙂

  9. I like your idea that we give Santa too much credit Wes because I think that’s so true. Think of the pretending bit like this: Aubri knows we only pretend with Santa & some people probably think we’re awful parents by already spilling the beans. At the same time, Aubri knows Cinderella is pretend but I guarantee you she will be jacked to see her castle when we go to Disney World next year. Aubri’s imagination will diminish on these things as she grows & yet knowing it’s pretend now, although still fun, will avoid the soul crushing experience of busting that bubble at say 8 years old 🙂

    I love the diverse similarities this post has created & no, I didn’t type that wrong 🙂 Many of us seem to essentially be saying the same thing in different ways.

Leave a Reply

