A Lesson From My Aubri

A couple of weeks ago, my family had a big get together to fill shoe boxes for Samaritans Purse. The last couple years we’ve chosen to give the money we’d normally spend on gifts for one another to an organization or cause. It’s odd & unsettling how unnatural this felt the first year we did it. We live in a culture of materialistic consumption & going against the grain makes us look, & sometimes even feel odd.

Before we started packing the boxes I took Aubri shopping so she could help & hopefully learn, what it looks like to give instead of get. In all honesty, it’s rare that we go shopping without our kids getting something, even if it’s small. My hope was to help Aubri see that it truly is more blessed to give than to receive. I had no idea that I would be the one learning the lesson.

We kept looking for a doll to put in the girls box & we just couldn’t find one Aubri liked. Honestly, even I didn’t think they were that great. We made one more pass down the aisle when Aubri looked at me & said “daddy I give the girl my dolly.” I asked her if she was sure she wanted to do that & she shook her head yes & said “it will make the girl happy.” I almost cried then & I am crying now as I type this.

I was proud, full of love & overcome with emotion! I was willing to buy stuff that wasn’t mine & give it away but Aubri was willing to give away something she already had & loved. She didn’t want to give her an old doll, she wanted to give that little girl, who she’d never even met, one of her newest & best dolls because “it would make the girl happy.” She wanted to give away her best.

What might the world look like if we were willing to give our newest & our best simply to bring happiness to others? As the day drew to a close I realized it was my 2-year old daughter who taught her daddy a lesson. When it comes to generosity this season, may we think like Aubri.

Thoughts to ponder…

CV

One thought on “A Lesson From My Aubri

  1. […] ago she decided to package one of her newest dolls into a shoebox for Operation Christmas Child. You can read that blog post here. Her thinking was that she had a lot of dolls & this doll would make another little girl very […]

Leave a Reply

