Doors

My dad was always a big believer that when God seems to shut a door, it’s usually because he’s opening up a window. This “everything happens for a reason” ideology is something I have seen firsthand in my life over the past few years, specifically with my career.

In case you didn’t know I am a pastor, a pastor who’s primary source of income does not come from my pastoral role. To be honest, when Kristyn & I moved to Chillicothe back in 2008 to plant a church, we both thought our income would come from CP. We essentially had the idea that God had called us, so He’d write the check.

We rather slowly, and even painfully, learned that God writing the check didn’t necessarily mean he’d write us a paycheck to pastor this church full-time. At the beginning of this year I started working bi-vocatinally & I NEVER thought that would happen but in all honesty, it’s been the best thing that’s ever happened to us & to this church because more people have had to play a part.

This week I started a new chapter in my life by starting a position as an Associate Agent at Nationwide Insurance. The principal agent at the agency is a tremendous man of character and a long-time family friend. He offered me the opportunity to provide adequately for my family, while providing a great deal of flexibility so I can keep my family & church a top priority. This opportunity was my window.

Through the frustration, the doubt & the prayers I finally realized that my dads theory was absolutely, positively right. Jeremiah 29:11 reminds us that God has a plan for our life. The hard part is realizing that His plan might look different than what we had imagined. While we’re looking at the door, waiting, He’s opening the window. The key to finding the window is trust & patience.

CV

Leave a Reply

