Helping the Homeless of Chillicothe

If you’re already aware of this issue then skip to the bottom of the post to see how you can help. If not, here’s some quick background:

The homeless population in Chillicothe has been growing steadily for several years and it has only gotten worse with the economic crisis. The city, & much of its government, were aware of this situation over the summer and the problems it would present this winter. While many did nothing, a group of people from Ross County Community Action chose to act. They proposed the purchase of a vacant learning center in a nicer part of town. This proposition was adamantly opposed by many who lived in the neighborhood of the proposed facility and their response has garnered a mixed reaction from the community.

Our local paper, The Chillicothe Gazette, did an article yesterday on this story which you can read HERE. Read some of the comments and you will likely be as sick as I was. Many people, on both sides of this issue, seem to be reacting with anger and hate but I believe this is an issue that requires love. The current questions being asked is “what should we do” for these people but I believe we could find  the answer simply by reversing the question to “what would I want done” if I was in this situation?

Reversing the question can change our perspective. After reading the article, & the comments that accompanied it, I decided I could no longer be a passive observer on this issue. I believe my faith, and love for my fellow brother & sister requires me to act!

If you live in or around the Chillicothe area and want to help find a solution for the homeless in our city I am inviting you to attend a meeting this Monday night (Feb. 1st), 6:30pm at Schlegel’s on Paint St. Just comment on the post & let me know if you’re in. If you’re outside Chillicothe, but still want to help, feel free to share some ideas. Let me again remind any potential participants that this meeting is to answer the question “what would I want done” if I was in this situation? It’s a meeting to help take action and solve this problem, not a meeting to debate & argue about the issue at hand.

CV

4 thoughts on “Helping the Homeless of Chillicothe

  1. Jenn says:

    I live in Piketon but would love to be involved.

  2. Josh strange says:

    I’ll be there.

  3. Denise Dilley says:

    Josh & I will be there!

  4. Vern Wooten says:

    You’ve done it again. Superb writing.

Leave a Reply

