Why can’t we be friends?

This past Saturday I was searching YouTube looking for a specific video I became more and more frustrated with what I was finding. I was typing in the names of several well-known Christian leaders and pastors and as I scanned the results I noticed there were almost as many negative videos and responses to these individuals as positive ones.

The most disheartening thing to me, was that these negative videos came mostly from other Christian leaders and pastors who apparently felt it was worth their time, energy and effort to attack, and even teach against, fellow brothers and sisters. Wouldn’t it be better if these individuals simply stayed focused on the vision God had called them to complete in their own areas?

When will we learn that it is NOT our place to judge others (Matthew 7:1-5)? Having an opinion, and even discussing that opinion in the privacy of friends, is one thing but to so publicly and willingly condemn someone who is reaching people and connecting them to Jesus is never acceptable in my mind. The world already sees enough dissension elsewhere and the last place they should see it is amongst people who claim to be on the same team.

It is easy to be a critic but it is much harder to keep your mouth shut and let God decide.

CV

3 thoughts on “Why can’t we be friends?

  1. Matt Hafer says:

    lol Mark Driscoll?

  2. notesalongthepath says:

    Hi Chris,
    Such inspiring words! I was so happy to find them. I am a Christian, but in my own way of including even other faiths–I believe peace will come when we respect and include all faiths–and I do get some flack about that idea. But a Christian reminding other Christians that Jesus Christ said NOT to judge is pretty unusual, at least as far as I can tell. You’re onto something here–keep writing and being a peacemaker. The world needs you.

  3. mattkysor says:

    It’s very disheartening, no doubt about it. There’s definitely room for discussion but that’s not what’s happening in most circumstances. Jesus said the world would know us by our love for one another – yet we spend much more time fighting and picking each other apart on various issues. It’s sad. I believe a generation is rising up that is ticked off at this sorta thing and in time, we will overcome this. Or at least I’m a dreamer anyway.

Leave a Reply

