The “hate” of Christ

This sign was recently featured at a church on the east side of Columbus and as you can imagine it created quite a stir amongst Christians and non-Christians alike.  

I assume most of my blog readers recognize the caption on the sign. For those of you who don’t the first part, “I kissed a girl and I liked it”, is a line from a recent hit song by artist Katy Perry. The last part, “then I went to hell”, is apparently the churches way of passing judgement on individuals dealing with a serious  and complicated issue. 

What you may not know is that Katy grew up in the church singing hymns and gospel songs. She has since left the church and, with attitudes like this, it’s no surprise to me. 

I am always hesitant to criticize another ministry and I must clarify that I do not know anyone at this church. What I do know is that this, in no way, shows the love of Christ to a world in need. Rather than seeing a God of love, images and judgements like this show the world a God who hates and Christians who think they’re better than everyone else. If Jesus stood up for the marginalized and outcasts of His society why do so many churches seem unable to do the same today? 

If “they will know we are Christians by our love” then I’m afraid we still have a long way to go.

CV

One thought on “The “hate” of Christ

  1. Bob Speakman says:

    I couldn’t agree more with this post. I hate to see news stories where “Christians” throw verbal hatred on gay pride events and other events. There are ways to stand up for our Christian values… hatred isn’t one of them.

Leave a Reply

