Fact or Fiction Response

First, if you have yet to read my previous post entitled: Fact or Fiction? I would ask you to do so before you read my response to that post. If you have already read it then please continue and see my response below. I should also note that I wrote this response yesterday before I posted the initial blog and before I had seen any of the comments regarding that post.     

I am sure as many of you read this list you were challenged and encouraged . I also imagine there were some who were upset, and hurt by the words you read. In reality, whether you were in the first group or the second group of people I mentioned, you share more in common than you realize. If you are a Follower of Christ then hopefully, the majority of people in both groups want to disprove the things contained in this list. If your in the first group you find a great deal of truth in the items contained in this list and  you want do everything in your power to reverse the course.  If your in the second group, and are more offended than inspired, you likely want to do whatever you can to show the world this list is wrong.  

As for my personal take on this list I will say what I have said over and over and over again: perception IS reality. If we cannot examine some of the flaws we have as Followers of Christ, and as the church, then we cannot change the growing, negative perceptions outsiders have of us and as a result we will struggle to connect with people who need the Message of Christ the most.    

Unfortunately, I personally see many of the things covered in this list coming from those who claim to be “Christians” and I find that disturbing. I must admit that at times I have been guilty of some of the things on this list myself and I fight daily to overcome those areas. We must all strive to live our lives in a way that honors Christ and shows His love to the world. If we are guilty of even one of the things on this list, which I feel we are, then we still have plenty of work to do.

Again, whether you found this list to contain items of fact or fiction is up to you but I hope regardless it pushes us all towards action and inspires us, through the example of our lives, to change these perceptions. This is something I hope we can all agree on.   

CV

Leave a Reply

