Feeling Like a Kid

Last night I had a moment, a moment that made me realize I was officially a dad!  The anticipation had been building the entire day for what was going to happen at 7pm.  I was counting down the hours and preparing myself for an exciting evening of entertainment. It wasn’t the NCAA Tournament, a concert, a night in St. Louis or even a trip outside G-Ville.  It was a movie, but not a movie I would normally frequent on a Saturday night.  It was Aubri’s first movie and with mom, grams, a cousin and close friend in tow we headed out for the event of the weekend…Dr. Seuss’ Horton Hears a Who. 

I was excited about a kids movie, a kids movie that by the looks of the theatre, drew in a median age of about 7 + all of the dads of course.  And all those dads were my glimmer of hope.  I realized I was not alone.  I was not the only dad who was excited about going to a kids movie nor would I be the last.

As for my review of the movie…cute.  The voices of Jim Carrey and Steve Carell helped me not to feel like I was one of the only adults in the room.  Unless you want to be laughed at for all of eternity I wouldn’t recommend going to the movie without at least one kid but honestly, kids give us all a reason to see the movies we really want to see and for that I am thankful. It was Aubri’s first movie and with the way this family watches movies it will be one of many to come.  Cheers to fatherhood! 

CV 

 

hortonhearsawho_galleryposter.jpg   
Leave a Reply

