Fighting the Small Things

Have you ever been in a little scuff over something foolish and when it was resolved stepped back and said “that was stupid!”  I definitely have, recently as a matter of fact, and it made me think about why it is that we argue over the smallest of things even when we know its not a good use of our time?

About a week ago I got a chance to watch a Rob Bell DVD entitled Everything is Spiritual from a tour he did in the summer of 2006.  Something Rob said during his talk really stuck out to me and I can’t seem to get it out of my mind.  He discussed the debate many churches and Christians have between free will and pre-destination.  Each side has their scripture references and both feel the other side has taken their references out of context.

My question, much like Bell’s, is why? Why does it matter who’s right and whose wrong?  Should it really change the way we live our lives and share our faith?  Why do we waste time arguing and debating the small things when we should be spending more time sharing God’s love and grace to those around us?

In my experience, one of the biggest reasons so many people get turned off by religion is because they see a bunch of people who argue about their beliefs and opinions while pushing some type of agenda along the way.  Who would want to be a part of this?  Not me and probably not you.

Much like the “scuff” I alluded to earlier we need to step back and look at some of the things we have argued over spiritually and ask ourselves, is it really worth it?  I challenge you to choose your disagreements wisely and stop fighting the small things.   

CV  

3 thoughts on “Fighting the Small Things

  1. Jeremy Gross says:

    Is it a circle or a rectangle?

    “Yep…”

  2. matt kysor says:

    Is it worth it? I suppose the only way to answer that is by another question: has the fighting really changed the culture or your culture, the culture sitting right next to you?

  3. JEV says:

    While I agree arguing over doctrines may be fruitless and even damaging, I’m not sure I would use the term “small stuff” when referring to pre-destination vs free will. These two opinions are direct opposite of each other but are very foundational to Christianity. Should your choice between these two doctines affect how live your life? Not if you love Jesus. Will it change the way you share your faith? I would think so.

Leave a Reply

